Seattle Web Design
Seattle Web Design
Feed Burner Subscribe Via Feed
Subscribe Via Email:

Contact Aldebaran Website Design Seattle

Meet the author:
Jill Olkoski

Jill has a MA in Clinical Psychology, a BS in Computer Science, and a BS in Mechanical Engineering.

She currently owns Aldebaran Web Design in Seattle WA and enjoys educating her clients on topics related to small business website design.

In Jill's previous life, she spent 17 years in the engineering and quality organizations of a Fortune 100 tech company.

Please enjoy the articles and leave a comment!

Powered by FeedBurner


Bad Bot from Savvis Communications Corporation in Cary NC?

July 18th, 2008

I wrote a post in February 2008 about a badly behaving bot (Limelight Networks in Tempe and Kavam in San Jose). This morning, I’ve received a comment on that post about a potential new badly behaving bot. Here’s the information:

cary: 165.193.254.# (SAVVIS Communications Corporation)

I’m not seeing this bot yet on my web stats - but if any of you are seeing it, please leave a comment. I found some information on Wikipedia about the Savvis Communications Corporation, not very flattering stuff.

UPDATE:

After writing this article, I noticed a visit from the Savvis Communications Corporation in my own website statistics - to this very post - but unfortuately, they didn’t leave a comment. Maybe they’ll return.

Here’s the visit:

Jill
--------------
J. Olkoski
Aldebaran Web Design, Seattle
Jill Olkoski has a BS in Engineering, a BS in Computer Science and a MA in Clinical Psychology. She delights in using her advanced technical, psychological and interpersonal skills to help small business owners develop cost-effective and successful websites.
[Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [del.icio.us] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]
Human Moderation Enforced

11 Responses to “Bad Bot from Savvis Communications Corporation in Cary NC?”

  1. e Says:

    thanks for this! just “commenting” so i can get triple backup of any real comments posted :D

  2. New bot coming from SAVVIS Says:

    [...] posted about it on Jill OlkoskiĀ blog, and she has written more here, which is a better place to post comments or read more about any [...]

  3. UKSBD Says:

    Ive just added a post about to one of my blogs here,

    http://www.nrac.co.uk/directory/new-bot-coming-from-savvis/

    I don’t accept comments, so have pointed anyone who wants to comment about it this way.

  4. Ree Slocum Says:

    Hi,
    I’m getting consistant and irritating hits from Kavam, Savvis and Limelight on my StatCounter. Does anyone know if they’re all legitimate search engine bots SUPPOSED to allow easier access to my website ?
    Thanks,
    Ree

  5. Jill Olkoski Says:

    Hi Ree,
    From the best I can tell from my own experience and the experience of many others who have commented, these are not “well-behaved” bots, meaning they don’t respect instructions they should, hit the site more times than they should, etc. They’re not from Google, Yahoo, MSN or another major search engine - so I’d block them all..

  6. Beth Luggery Says:

    I have had Limelight on my stats for more than a year! At first it seems that they were visiting 20-30 pages per day, now it’s multi times EVERY DAY but only one page at a time. Savvis has started the exact same routine daily….. WHY?????

  7. Beth Luggery Says:

    PS…. Is there a way to block them from my site?

  8. Jill Olkoski Says:

    Hi Beth,
    This article has some ways to block them:
    http://aldebaranwebdesign.com/blog/kavam-limelight-network-searchme-robot-website-traffic/

    I don’t really know why some companies create these badly behaving bots…there must be a reason…

  9. John Says:

    Kavaam is part of Searchme.com. I think the reason why there are so many bots visits is because of search results and bots constantly refreshing the thumbnail of a web site page that shows up on their search. I’ve seen that type of spidering from Alexa when on a vBulletin message board (meaning I would be in the Way Back machine (web.archive.org) and visit a site and that site would see massive spider traffic).

    Savvis is massively spidering my sites and it is getting annoying. so annoying in fact I may try to pass on this post and others to my web hosting company because they are usually receptive of user input… This is massive and unwanted traffic. What search engine is it part of, anyway?

  10. Jill Olkoski Says:

    Hi John,
    I would recommend passing it on to your hosting company, the more folks who complain the better. I’ve tried to contact the company directly, but to no avail. I don’t know what search engine it’s part of..

  11. Davis Freeberg Says:

    I started noticing weird bots about two months ago after I removed some compromised code from my site. Blocking the IP seemed to stop the attacks, but then today I noticed similar behavior from this IP address. I’m not sure who is behind it or if it’s even related, but their server sent about a half a dozen rapid hits to my site and then stopped. The weird part is that all of the hits were for posts that contained embeded music videos from YouTube. I’m not sure if other people have noticed the same behavior but it could be one of Hollywood’s goons trying to sanitize the net?

Please Leave A Comment or Question:

(I'll respond to all questions by posting a reply as well as emailing you.)




Aldebaran Web Design, Seattle WA
206.523.6560
Jill@AldebaranWebDesign.com

[Home]  [New Website Design]  [Website Redesign]  [Search Engine Optimization]  [Content Management]  [Maintenance]  [eCommerce ]  [Website Portfolio]  [Testimonials] [Google AdWords Advertising ] [Contact ]

 ©2008 Aldebaran Website Design, Seattle WA
 206.523.6560
 All Rights Reserved
Small Business Website Design
by Aldebaran Website Design, Seattle WA
Site Last Modified: May 25, 2008
Search Articles:
Green Web Hosting! This site hosted by DreamHost. Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
Thanks for Voting us #1 in the Best of Seattle Website Design Category